Soar!

I had a couple of other posts in mind for today, but in light of the glider ride I took yesterday (a Groundhog Day present from my wonderful husband), I felt like this post (written on May 20th of this year) would be apropos. The others will just have to wait for another week. I hope you enjoy this one, and that each of you have a wonderful holiday weekend.

DSC03331

As I sit writing on a sunny, 80-degree day, with birds chirping and calling to one another overhead, I’m reminded of a recent exchange with Tijge. I was pointing to a bird soaring in the sky, excitedly telling him to watch. I surprised myself with my own fascination.

To understand why, you have to understand how I generally feel about birds. I laughed and adopted a friend’s sentiment once, when she said that “birds are nothing more than flying rats.” I’ve been saying it ever since, and trying to teach Tijge to recite the same description (much to his dad’s dismay). So far, “birds are dirty” is as far as he will go with that. But honestly, for me, it isn’t just birds. It’s any living, flying thing. So bats, butterflies, other flying insects—they all creep me out.

But, in a departure from this general policy, I love birds of prey. Why? I’ve come to the conclusion that it’s because they don’t fly. And now you’re saying to yourself, “What?!” But they don’t. Tell me, when was the last time you saw a hawk or an eagle flapping its wings frantically and helplessly in a strong wind? Have you ever? Probably not. And it’s because they love the wind and have learned how to harness its power. According to Google, the word soar means to “maintain height in the air without flapping wings or using engine power.”

And just like the birds of prey that I find so fascinating, I want to soar. And Isaiah 40:31 says that I can. It says that “those who hope in the Lord will renew their strength. They will soar on wings like eagles; they will run and not grow weary, they will walk and not be faint.” So hope in the Lord, renew your strength, and SOAR!

Leave a Reply

