Heaven Songs

November is Adoption Awareness Month! So over the next few weeks, I’ll be posting a series of entries related to adoption. And I can’t think of a better way to kick it off than by honoring the very first adopted person I ever knew, and on her birthday. So here’s to you, Mom, happy birthday! I love you!

Tj with Grandma A 6

John 14:2-3

In my Father’s house are many rooms; if it were not so, I would have told you. I am going there to prepare a place for you. And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come back and take you to be with me that you also may be where I am.

When I was growing up, the local Christian radio station had a request and dedication show that aired every Saturday morning. My mom must have sent in a request or dedication almost every week. Then she would listen for three hours every Saturday so that she could record her songs and dedications. She made lots of mixed tapes over the years (yes, those were the days of cassette tapes).

But I especially remember a period of what must have been 6 months to a year, when every week, she wrote in requesting a song about heaven. Not only that, but she recruited her four best friends to do the same. And by the end of it all, she had three volumes of nothing but “heaven songs.” I distinctly recall one particular dedication:

“So many believers seem afraid of death. But I pray that they won’t be afraid—that they will look forward to it. Heaven is a reward–a real reward. And death is the only way to get there, until Jesus comes back. And although I don’t know what heaven will be like, I know that it will be wonderful.”

Now, I firmly believe that it was God who impressed upon me the incredible (and maybe slightly inordinate) longing that I have for heaven. But I also recognize and greatly appreciate my mom’s role, in that she fostered and encouraged that desire within me. I think it’s probably her greatest legacy so far. And I hope that I, too, will be able to pass on to my children the “heaven song” within my heart.

Leave a Reply

