Into Egypt

Genesis 46:2-4a

“God spoke to Israel in visions of the night and said, ‘Jacob, Jacob.’ And he said,
‘Here I am.’ He said, ‘I am God, the God of your father; do not be afraid to go down to Egypt, for I will make you a great nation there. I will go down with you to Egypt…’”

Surely I’ve read this passage before, but I guess I never read it closely enough to see the irony of it. God tells Jacob not to be afraid to go down to Egypt, because that is where God will make him a great nation. He also promises to go with Jacob.

Now, this instruction comes during the famine and the time of Joseph’s power directly under Pharaoh. But you may also know that Egypt is where the Israelites are later made slaves. It is from there that Moses is called to “deliver” God’s people from the Egyptians and their tyranny. And yet, knowing that all of that is to come, God tells Jacob not to be afraid, for God himself would go with him.

Do you see what this means? It means that, if we are obeying God’s call and direction in our lives, then we don’t need to be afraid of the outcome, even if it is unfavorable in some ways. It is still God’s will and plan, working all things together for good for those who love him.

Here’s a kind of off-the-wall illustration, but I think it will make this scripture stick. I’ve wanted for some time to donate one of my kidneys. You’re asking why, and honestly, that is a topic for another post. What is important now is a concern that a friend brought up, namely, “what if you donate a kidney now and then someone close to you needs one someday?”

My answer was and is that God knows whether or not someone close to me will need a kidney transplant someday. He also knows whether or not another one will be available at that time. Even if the answers are yes and no, respectively, if God calls me to donate a kidney to someone who needs it NOW, then I don’t need to fear the scenarios that may play out in the future. God is with me now, and He’ll be with me then. And He will fulfill his promises, for He is faithful. Our job is to discern God’s will and obey (easier said than done, I know). It is His job to accompany us into our Egypt, and to supply all of our needs once we get there, according to His riches and glory.

May you, and may we, go where He sends us without fear.

Leave a Reply

