What’s Good for the Heart

Psalm 46:10a
“Be still, and know that I am God.”

Luke 12:34
“For where your treasure is, there will your heart be also.”

The kids and I spend a lot of time walking near our house. It’s practically a year-round activity for us. Gotta love the Texas weather, right? And it’s really my primary mode of exercise. Honestly, I haven’t been to the gym since Tijge was born—almost four years ago! So, you can probably imagine that we walk at a pretty good clip and we try not to make too many stops. I need to keep my heart rate up if I’m going to get a good cardio workout.

But today, as we near Valentine’s Day, I’m reflecting on one walk in particular—one we took last spring. It was a beautiful day, so we set out on a 4-mile loop. But about halfway through, I stopped dead in my tracks. A particular scene caught my eye and I had to stop for a couple of photos.SSPX0047

I know this phone photo doesn’t do it justice, but you get the idea. And I got the message: Stop. Take in the beauty that I’ve created for you to enjoy. Don’t be in such a hurry. Stop. R-E-L-A-X. (Go Pack Go. 🙂 )

Then, around the 3-mile mark, we passed Duke and Jake’s house. They are two dogs that the kids adore, but that are always fenced in. Well, at one point, I’d left a little note in their mailbox for their ‘mom,’ commenting on how the kids would love to meet the dogs someday. And she actually called me! She said that, sure, the kids could meet the dogs sometime and that we should text her the next time we passed by and saw her car in the driveway. Well, wouldn’t you know it? She was home. So we stopped again. We visited for a while and made some new friends. Tijge played with the dogs, but also on the playground, in the dirt, with the shovel….and he loved it.

As we left and headed home, I briefly considered how much of a ‘waste’ this walk had been, in terms of physical fitness. But then I realized that these moments, these memories, are what’s truly good for the heart.

Leave a Reply

