Selfies

Psalm 139:14

“I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made;
your works are wonderful,
I know that full well.”

Bj Pigtails 20

Selfies. I remember the first time I heard the term. I was watching a particularly humorous episode of Duck Dynasty. But I remember turning to my husband and asking, “What is a selfie? Is that really a thing?” I subsequently learned that it was a very prominent trend in our culture today. Is that a good or a bad thing?

Some people get down on others for taking too many selfies. In all honesty, some people DO take too many selfies. But I think that a blanket condemnation of this trend is premature, and perhaps a bit misguided.

As a mom of two toddlers, I think selfies (both with and without my kids) serve several valuable and legitimate purposes. They document our time together and our memories. If my kids’ memories of their childhood are as spotty as mine, they’ll need the reminders. These photos also document ME, as a mom. I’ve read more than one blog entry talking about how mothers are always getting stuck behind the camera, recording for posterity everyone but themselves. Then when everyone looks back years later, they ask, “Where was Mom in all of these photos?”

Selfies also demonstrate a level of confidence. Let’s face it. A lot of us moms are more than happy to take our place BEHIND the camera. The last person we want recorded for posterity is ourselves. We don’t want our weight, or our cellulite, our skin condition, or our horrific haircut memorialized for eternity on the internet. God forbid! But our kids see that…our daughters see that. They watch, they notice, they internalize those insecurities.

Am I saying that young girls should plaster scantily-clad and seductively-posed photos of themselves all over social media? No. Am I suggesting that these same girls open themselves up to potential victimization by sex traffickers and the like? Of course not. But I think selfies do have their place in our society. And while I’ve lately found myself taking a few more of them than I used to, I don’t think I should have to feel guilty about that. And I hope that—within reason—you don’t either.

Leave a Reply

